top of page
  • Writer's pictureSky Binney

A Bit About Me

Updated: Aug 28, 2019



A Couple Things to Know:

  • I love crafting, baking, and writing

  • I hope to inspire everyone in some way

  • I am so excited to start this blog!!!


In order to get a good understanding as to why I have started this blog and why I love it so much, this post required a slightly longer context. So if you're at all curious why this post and page even exists...read on!


I am in my soon-to-be third year of college and have not had my own kitchen or an un-shared space for two years. However, this didn't stop me from crafting or baking; in fact, it made me love it even more! Now starting my third year in college, I will FINALLY have a kitchen and workplace to do my crafting and baking –– thank. goodness.


I've grown to love crafting even more since moving to college because of the creativity I use with such a small budget. The group of people surrounding me expanded hugely, as I was suddenly surrounded by tons of people I'd like to craft and bake for! I had my sorority, my family, my friends at home, and my favorite fraternity. But...not enough money to bake for them all. So, I began getting creative at the Dollar Tree and with anything else I had laying around. Whether it was using only ingredients from the kitchenette in our sorority house or scavenging through the drawers of the craft room, I loved turning something that everyone ignored on a regular basis into something worth gifting!


So how did this blog begin? One year ago, my friend told me that I should start a new Instagram to feature all of my crafts. It was a great place for me to post, but I didn't take it very seriously.


It wasn't until my cousin, Faryn, created her blog that I realized that it's something I'd be interested in as well. I have struggled with choosing a name for weeks, but finally decided on D.I.Y. with SKY. Now that I have expanded my originally named "Binney Baking" Instagram into a lifestyle and crafting blog, I really hope to inspire people with my content. Instead of just showcasing my creations, I want this blog to be a space that people can collect ideas and knowledge from, so that it can be of use to people.


Unfortunately I cannot yet fund my own individual website or extravagant crafts, but I think that is what makes my blog special. I have my very small budget, but am able to turn it into something big. This website doesn't need to be official and eat up all of my savings to be worth it; writing for myself and for anyone else that wants to be inspired is enough for me!


Thank you for taking the time to find interest in one of my favorite things to do, and I hope you can take away from it as much as I do.


Happy Reading!


xoxo,

SKY

2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page